Which court do I need?

Unfortunately, the library cannot give you advice on which court you will need for your case. However, we can give you general information on the court systemThere are 3 levels of courts – federal, state, and local. Remember to check any paperwork you have received to see if you need to go to a specific courthouse.  


Federal courts include the Supreme Court, Bankruptcy Courts, and Circuit Courts. To learn more, visit https://www.uscourts.gov/about-federal-courts/court-role-and-structure 


The State of Ohio Supreme Court has an explanation on their website on the state and local courts:  

Local courts include the Cuyahoga Court of Common Pleas https://cp.cuyahogacounty.us/, the Cleveland Municipal Court http://clevelandmunicipalcourt.org/home.html, and other city courts. A list of those is here: https://ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/site/government/resources/ohio-courts#c  

Last Updated: Jul 31, 2020  Views: 2

Submit your question or comment here
Your Info
Confirmation Email
Fields marked with * are required.